Some unusual spoofed e-mail activity is going on around the Zappos.com affiliate program. It appears that somebody is clumsily masquerading as the Zappos.com affiliate manager to send e-mail about ppc activity.
An affiliate trying to thin the herd through intimidation? A competitor aiming to make the affiliate program appear hostile to affiliates? Maybe the lamest April Fool’s Day joke of many very lame jokes.
Here is the e-mail sent out from the Zappos.com affiliate program with the subject, “Fraudulent e-mail”:
ZAPPOS.COM ASSOCIATES PROGRAM FRAUDULENT EMAIL ALERT It recently came to our attention that a fraudulent email was sent to at least one of our Associates participating in the Zappos.com Associates Program. The email was sent via the email address zappostrademarkpolicy@hotmail.com. This false e-mail has the subject title of “Trademark & Overbiding Violation Notice of Zappos.com†and includes statements regarding your “overbidding on several Zappos.com proprietary trademarked keywords…†Zappos.com’s Associate Program does not send emails via Hotmail or any other email accounts other than those ending in zappos.com. If you believe that you received the above mentioned email or a similar fraudulent email from the Hotmail account mentioned above or any other email account not ending in zappos.com, please forward the email to associates@zappos.com. If possible please include the full message header.
Anyhow, pay attention to the sender on your e-mails, so you don’t get tricked by a goofy affiliate manager imposter.

{ 1 comment }
People have wwwaaayyyyy too much time on their hands. Whatever reason, a pretty stupid thing to do.
Comments on this entry are closed.